Bahrain Bourse (BHB) was established as a shareholding company in 2010 to replace the Bahrain Stock Exchange, which was established in 1987. BHB is a self-regulated organization (SRO) licensed by the Central Bank of Bahrain (CBB). Officially, organized trading in the Bahraini stock market commenced in 1989, and it included financial instruments such as equities, bonds/sukuk, and mutual funds. Recently, Bahrain Bourse officially launched two new markets: the Treasury Bills market and the REITs market.

Trading at Bahrain Bourse takes place through an Automated Trading System, in which the trading session begins at 9:30 a.m. and ends at 1:00 p.m., with a 15-minute pre-opening period from 9:15 to 9:30 a.m.  Transactions are settled at BHB in two working days (T+2) at the trading floor.

There are 45 companies, 19 mutual funds, and 12 bonds/sukuk listed on the exchange. The three indices tracking the market’s performance are the Bahrain All Share Index, the Esterad Index (which consists of a basket of selected local-publicly listed companies), and the Bahrain Islamic Index.

BHB has joined several regional and international organizations such as the World Federation of Exchanges (WFE), the Arab Federation of Exchanges, Federation of Euro-Asian Stock Exchanges (FEAS), the Africa & Middle East Depositories Association (AMEDA), and the Association of National Numbering Agencies (ANNA).

The laws of the Kingdom of Bahrain allow foreigner investors to own up to 100% of shares of local listed companies.  There are no taxes on investments in securities nor on capital gains generated from trading on shares.

For more information, please visit the BHB website at

  • Silver Sponsor